Local News

Clarenville Branch 27 Poppy Co-Chair Comrade Cyril McGettigan presents a $4000 donation to Heather Barbour – Chief Development Officer, Discovery Health Centre Foundation

Comrade Bill Meadus of Clarenville – Branch 27 presents a cheque for $1000.00 to Larry Reid and John Pickett of the CREST Senior Bus Service. 

Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation – Sunday, 26 May 2024

Comrade Harold Brown from Branch 32, Bay Roberts being presented with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation by District of Avalon MP, The Honourable Ken McDonald.

Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation held at Branch 56, Pleasantville. (L – R) Presenter District of Avalon MP, The Honourable Ken McDonald, Comrade Wayne Miller (Nominator), Branch 50 Conception Bay South, Eileen Kavanagh (Recipient), Branch 50, Comrade Harold Brown (Recipient), Branch 32, Bay Roberts and Comrade Ross Petten (Nominator), Branch 32.

A cooperative service was held on May 5th, 2024, honouring the Battle of The Atlantic, between Branch #47 & Branch #57 of Labrador City and Wabush respectively. Their cadets provided the band and colour party for the parade.

Honours and Awards Ceremony for Branch 13, Corner Brook

Group photo of the members from Branch 13 who received their years of service pins.

Photo of Comrade Marilyn Hewitt who received a 50 year’s of service pin.

Branch 13, Legionnaire of the year award for 2023 presented to Comrade Robert Murphy.

Branch 5 Botwood, President Jim Hancock (left) presents a $500 cheque to Arch Rice, Chair of the Exploits Veterans Pavilion Action Committee.

The Second World War veteran Johnny Pauls was celebrated on Saturday, March 16th as he turned 100 and marked nearly eight decades of service to the Royal Canadian Legion. In the photo below Comrade Pauls is being presented with a plaque by Provincial Command President, Comrade Gerald Budden in recognition of his 100th birthday.

In recognition of his many year’s of service to Branch 9, the Branch Veterans Room has been renamed “Uncle Johnny’s Room”. A group photo of some of those present at his celebration dinner.

On March 17, 2024 Janis Boone, 1st Vice-President of NL Provincial Command of the Royal Canadian Legion conducted the Election and Installation of Officers at Gander Branch 8. 

Seated L-R: Treasurer Lynn Butler, 2nd Vice-President Allison Butler, President Daniel O’Donnell, Janis Boone, Service Officer Nelson Granter, 1st Vice-President Brian Cottrell, Secretary Shirley O’Donnell.

Standing L-R: Padre Capt. Edgar Schroeder, Executive Members Mike Keating, Oz Fudge, Beulah Cooper, Rita Pearce, Pat Woodford, Lloyd Burke (Sgt-At-Arms)

Presentation of $500. From the Poppy Trust Fund of Botwood Branch 5 to Eli Rowsell of Heroes Mending on the Fly by Branch 5 President – Comrade James Hancock.

Comrade Nicole Badcock being presented with the Legion Service Medal by past District 2 Commander, Comrade Harold Brown for her more than 10 year’s as the District 2 Secretary. Congratulations Nicole! (Photo courtesy of Comrade Ira Halfyard, Branch 39 – Dildo)

Branch 34 (Ferryland) were in desperate need of a new wheelchair ramp for their building and did not have the funds, thus limiting access for some members. When Branch 36 (Mount Pearl) caught wind of this it was quickly voted in by the executive to help out our comrades with the use of our Poppy funds. After going through the proper channels we were able to present a cheque on December 27th, 2023 for $7000!

Left President Bruce Butler, Branch 34 (Ferryland) accepting the check from President John Blackwood, Branch 36 (Mount Pearl).

Left Comrade Jack Lepierre – 2nd Vice President, Comrade Jerome Ennis – Membership, Comrade June King – Treasurer and Comrade Calvin Smith – 1st Vice President.

Winners of the District 4 Crib Tournament held at Grand Falls-Windsor, Branch 12. (L-R) Jennifer Pellerin, Frank Rowe, Will Loveman and Ted Fudge. Presenting the trophy, 1st Vice-President of Provincial Command Janis Boone.

District 4 Darts Tournament held at Grand Falls-Windsor, Branch 12. (L-R) Mark Andrews, Byron Bennett, Gord Corbin and Dave Jewer from Branch 12. Presenting the trophy 1st Vice-President of Provincial Command Janis Boone.

On Feb. 8th, 2024 Br.12 Grand Falls-Windsor held their AGM and installation of officers. 

Front row: (l-r) Treasurer Ed Fewer, 1st Vice Frank Way, President Jamie Samson, 2nd Vice Joe Alteen, Secretary Karen Samson.

Second row: Prov. Chair/District Commander Law Power(installing officer), Executive Committee Pat Beson, Sonja Cull, Peg Downton, Frank Zaretrky, Garry Janes, Past President Dan Devine.

Third row: Alwin Parsons, Jim Gillard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.